Prospect in english

Ceramics studio   Imke Splittgerber

Feuerspuren – Traces of Fire

Ceramics out of smokefire and woodfire

From the beginning I was fascinated by simple and clear forms, but with the throwing on the wheel the types of forms are limited. In 1999 I met Paulus Berensohn (author of "Finding one's way with clay") and he showed me the great variety of forms you can accomplish by pinching.

I start all forms from a ball of clay and they grow in an alternating process of being pinched and letting them dry to their final form. The ball of clay can already exist of different coloured clays, so that the final colour and pattern show while pinching. Other pieces are smoothed and polished with a special stone and then fired in a smokefire with sawdust, different natural materials (like seaweed and rosebuds) and colouring salts.
The pieces with coloured clays are fired either in an electric or in a woodfired kiln (ceramics oven) at 1260°C. In my woodfired kiln I also fire pieces with ash-deposits and salt-traces.

For pinching you can use many different clays or even porcelain. I love to experiment with all these materials and also to give the fire element a part in the final result. So the total process is a cooperation between the elements earth/water and fire/air and my dialogue with them.

In the pinch technique I can also produce tableware like cups, teapots, bowls, containers and goblets for drinking wine.

Resume

1967 - 1972 Teacher education for middle school.
1973 - 1977 Studies at the art college in Kiel (Germany) with Johannes Gebhardt and Jan Koblasa, received a Design diploma.
1977 - 1978 Studies at the art university in Stuttgart (Germany).
1978 - 1986 Own studio in Berlin together with Jimmy Clark (1987-2000 Director of the Clay Studio in Philadelphia, USA) and others. Member of Bund Bildender Künster (BBK) and Art Craft Association in Berlin. Participation in Messe Frankfurt on the Main and in different exhibitions and competitions.
1981 Received the permission to teach apprentices.
1989 Start of a new studio in Mühlacker-Mühlhausen (Germany).
1999 / 2001 Multiple trips to the USA to study with Paulus Berensohn (author of the book "Finding one's Way with clay") and afterwards more engagement in giving workshops and teaching at schools.
Since 2003 Proofreading for various ceramic books. Many solo and group exhibitions internationally.

Ceramics courses

I offer courses in the pinch technique in my studio and other places. The current program of courses you can find on my website:

www.imke-splittgerber.de

Prospekt

Keramikatelier   Imke Splittgerber

Feuerspuren

Keramiken aus dem Rauchbrand und dem Holzofenbrand

Immer schon haben mich die ganz einfachen, klaren Formen angesprochen, aber auf der Drehscheibe ist diese Formensprache begrenzt. 1999 lernte ich die Pinch-Technik kennen, die nun unendliche Möglichkeiten zulässt.

Alle Formen werden aus einer Kugel Ton in einem abwechselnden Prozess von Drücken und Trocknen-Lassen frei herausgetrieben. Die Kugel kann schon aus eingefärbtem Ton bestehen, sodass sich Farben und Muster beim Formen gleich zeigen. Andere Formen werden geglättet und roh mit einem glatten Stein (z.B. Achat) poliert und dann im Sägemehlbrand (Rauchbrand) mit Naturmaterialien und Salzen gefärbt.
Die Stücke aus eingefärbtem Ton werden entweder im E-Ofen oder in einem Holzbrandofen bei 1260°C gebrannt. Im Holzbrandofen entstehen auch Stücke mit Asche- und Salzanflug.

Zum Pinchen eignen sich alle Tonsorten und auch Porzellan. Ich liebe es, mit verschiedenen Materialien zu experimentieren und beim Brand auch dem Element Feuer einen Anteil am Gelingen des Stückes zu geben. So ist der gesamte Prozess eine Zusammenarbeit mit den Elementen Erde/Wasser und Feuer/Luft, mit denen ich in eine Art Dialog trete.

Mit der Pinchtechnik stelle ich auch verschiedene Gebrauchskeramiken her: Tassen, Kannen, Schalen, Dosen, Weinpokale und vieles mehr.

Werdegang

1967 - 1972 Ausbildung zur Realschullehrerin.
1973 - 1977 Studium der Freien Kunst/Keramik an der FH Gestaltung in Kiel bei Johannes Gebhart und Jan Koblasa, Abschluss als Diplom-Designer.
1977 - 1978 Studium an der Kunstakademie Stuttgart.
1978 - 1986 Werkstattgemeinschaft in Berlin, u.a. mit Jimmy Clark (1987-2000 Direktor des Clay-Studio in Philadelphia, USA). Mitglied im Bund Bildender Künstler (BBK) und im Kunsthandwerkerverein Berlin, in diesem Rahmen Beteiligung an der Messe Frankfurt a.M. und an verschiedenen Ausstellungen und Wettbewerben.
1981 Erwerb der Ausbildungsberechtigung im Keramiker-Handwerk.
1989 Aufbau einer neuen Werkstatt in Mühlacker-Mühlhausen.
1999 / 2001 Mehrere Studienaufenthalte in den USA bei Paulus Berensohn, Autor des Buches "Dialoge mit Ton" ("Finding one's Way with Clay"). Danach verstärkte Kurstätigkeit im In- und Ausland und Lehrtätigkeit an Schulen.
Seit 2003 Lektorat für mehrere Keramikfachbücher, zahlreiche Einzelausstellungen und Ausstellungsbeteiligungen im In- und Ausland.

Keramikkurse

Ich biete Kurse in der Pinch-Technik an, z.T. in meinem Atelier, aber auch in anderen Kurshäusern. Das aktuelle Programm findet man auf meiner Website unter:

www.imke-splittgerber.de